World’s Best Turkey Burgers

I’ve seen a few burgers on Pinterest claiming to be the “World’s Best”, and while I’m sure they are very good……I can with great confidence (and perhaps great conceit) that my turkey burger truly is the best.

IMG_1365

 

World’s Best Turkey Burgers

1 1/4 to 1 1/2 lbs of ground turkey

1 small onion or 1/2 of a large onion, diced

1 jalapeno, deseeded, deveined, and very finely diced

2 T of fresh cilantro, roughly chopped

4 cloves of garlic, minced

2 large palm fulls (2 T or so) of cumin

1 small palmful (1 to 1 1/2 tsp) of ground ginger

salt and pepper, to taste

1 T or so of EVOO

burger buns of your choosing, I used potato buns here

Suggested Toppings

mozzarella cheese (or another mild, good melting cheese)

fresh avocado

ketchup

mayo

 

I cannot take credit for the combo of spices used here; my good friend and former work colleague Penny Rosone-Nemeth told me about this grouping of spices she had been using since borrowing a Bengladesh cookbook from another colleague of ours, so I decided to give them a go and loved how they tasted in a turkey burger. I’ve done it with beef as well, but beef has a stronger flavor and I don’t think you can taste all the spices as well, so in addition to being healthier, I actually prefer the taste of the turkey burger in this instance.

So! I start out by cutting up all my fresh onion, jalapeno, garlic, and cilantro and dumping in a big bowl with my ground turkey and dried spices.

IMG_1335

 

Then I add in the EVOO,

IMG_1344

 

and mix everything into the meat evenly with my hands. Yes, its messy, but it’s the right way to do it!

IMG_1346

 

Once combined, I form my mixture into 4-5 evenly sized patties, with a bit of an indentation in the middle. The reason for the dimple in the middle- burgers always plump in the middle when you cook them, so if you start them not as wide in the middle, they will be an even thickness once they are cooked!

IMG_1353

 

 

Then you just need to cook up and dress these beautiful patties of goodness…….I did them on the stove, but you can cook them however you like to cook your burger. Just make sure its cooked all the way through, because unlike beef, you don’t want to serve turkey anything less than well done.

IMG_1360

 

Also another tip, regardless of the surface you are cooking on: only ever flip your meat once. flipping back and forth will dry it out. So, flip over once you have a nice crust on one side, and you feel the meat is cooked about 1/2 way through, like shown above.

I threw some fresh mozzarella cheese on my burger once I flipped it over so it got nice and melty…..

IMG_1366

 

cut myself some nice fat slices of avocado, dressed my bun with ketchup and mayo, and then inserted my burger. I can tell you that it took some serious self control to stop and take a picture before I shoved this thing in my face in very shameless fashion.

Seriously, it is SO good. I don’t take the title “World’s Best” lightly. Try it, and thank me later.

One thought on “World’s Best Turkey Burgers

  1. YUM! When I make turkey burgers, I use spices but the burger’s flavor is always so so; meh…and then I load on the salt while I’m eating it to compensate for the blandness. But I never thought to use so much herbs and spices as in this recipe. I have to try this…turkey burgers in my house next week!

Leave a Reply

