Guacamole!

IMG_1301

Guacamole

2 ripe avocados

fresh cilantro

1/4 cup finely diced red onion

1/2 finely chopped jalapeno, with ribs and seeds removed

1 lime

salt and pepper, to taste

Image

I absolutely love avocados with every fiber of my being. So creamy, smooth, and rich……I like them in my salads, on my sandwich, burger, in my tuna instead of mayo, and even turned into a sauce for my pasta. I crave them on a regular basis, and nothing beats that craving like the king of all avocado dishes- guacamole.

As inconvenient as it is, you can’t always meet that craving right when you have it…..because its not that easy to buy an avocado that is ripe enough to eat, but not totally mushy and beyond it’s time. So, usually buy a few avocados when I make my weekly run to the grocery store that feel somewhat firm but not rock-hard, and they are ready in 2-3 days for whatever yummy application I have.

So back to the guac- I start by very finely chopping about 1/4 to 1/3 cup red onion, Image

A good twist of fresh cilantro (2-3 TBs),

Image

and, 1/2 of a very finely diced jalapeno, with the ribs (white connective part) and seeds removed. If you want it super spicy, you can leave them, or use the whole jalapeno instead of just half.

Image

Image

I then throw all of those ingredients in my bowl so I can start working on my avocado.

I’ve seen some really awkward butchering of avocados……and it’s so unnecessary because they are a cinch to get out of the skin and pit once you know how.

I start by running my knife around the avocado lengthwise, until it is cut into 2 equal parts. I give it a twist, and the 2 sides easily will come apart, with the pit resting in one side

Image

I could just get a spoon and eat this thing right out of the skin. But I know the end result is so tasty and takes almost no time at all, so will be patient…….

So instead of taking a spoon and shoveling this perfect avocado down the hatch, I spoon the meat right out,

Image

and dump in the bowl with the rest of our ingredients.

Image

So what about the side that the pit rests in? Super easy. You take your chopping knife and whack it into the center of the pit,

Image

give a little twist, and the pit will pop right out! Don’t discard your pits; they will be used later, so just put them aside. This process will be repeated for the 2nd avocado, or as many as you have if you are making a larger portion.

Once they’re all in the bowl, it’s mashing time! I use a potato masher, makes it sooo easy.

Image

I had a friend see me using the masher, and boldy proclaimed “that’s how how Puerto Ricans do it! You’re supposed to use a fork!” To that I say, pish posh. It’s the perfect tool, and gets the job done in a fraction of the time. You will want to mash until you get the desired consistency; I like some texture and don’t want it perfectly smooth. So after you get the texture you want, toss the masher in the sink and switch out for a spoon for the rest of the preparation process.

After a good amount of experimentation, I found that the perfect ratio of lime to avocado is 1/2 a fresh lime for each avocado used. So, I used one lime for this batch. Give the lime a quick roll  on the counter to get the juices going, slice in half, and squeeze into the bowl.

Image

Give it a stir, add a bit of salt and pepper to taste…..and BAM you’ve got fresh guacamole. So easy and delicious, there’s no reason to ever buy the premade stuff! And, you want to throw in your pits because they help slow down the browning/oxidation process.

I like to do the chip test to check for the correct amount of salt:

Image

I am almost always eating my guac with chips, and since the chips are already salty, I like to taste it on a chip so I don’t over salt.

I usually like to do the chip test a couple……few…..5 times, just to make sure the first time isn’t a fluke or anything…..and so no one dies. Not because it’s delicious or anything like that, just because I’m so concerned about everyone else.

Leave a Reply

